16 Oct A weekend of reflection and new faces for the AAA

Australia’s peak industry body for alpacas celebrated a year of significant progress and welcomed new Board members at their Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Canberra on Saturday 21 September.

The Australian Alpaca Association (AAA) has worked on a vast array of projects during the year to bring about overwhelmingly positive results for alpaca producers across the country, said Ian Frith, AAA President.

“Some key projects that stand out for me include the Australian Guaranteed Alpaca Product Swing Tag and Trademark, and the commitment of dedicated funds to grow our Youth section as well as support the commercialisation and market development of the Australian alpaca industry,”

“We have been working hard to bring our Q-Fever testing in-line to satisfy the New Zealand Ministry of Primary Industries requirements so the ban on export of Australian alpacas to New Zealand can be lifted. We’ve also revised the Showing Rules to reduce the maximum fleece age for suri alpacas in halter classes to make the show standards for suri and huacaya alpacas align with the requirements of merc

handised spinning mills,” said Mr Frith

Mr Frith was also pleased to present a new perpetual medal on behalf of AAA for ‘an outstanding contribution to the alpaca industry by a volunteer.’

“I was proud to award this medal to Shane Read in recognition of his hard work and dedication to the alpaca industry. Shane’s contribution to alpaca events – including local and national shows – is unparalleled,” said Mr Frith.

In accordance with the AAA Constitution, Mr Ian Frith stood for re-election as AAA President alongside new candidate, Mr Andrew Munn. The election process saw AAA members endorse Mr Andrew Munn as the new President of the AAA.

Mr Munn thanked the outgoing President for his service to the Association and the wider alpaca industry.

“Ian has contributed immensely to the alpaca industry over his tenure, overseeing a number of important policy initiatives that have supported the growth of the industry in Australia,” said Mr Munn.

Mr Munn also expressed thanks to Directors Mr Steve O’Keefe and Dr Sue Harris who tendered their resignations at the conclusion of the AGM, alongside Directors Mr Andrew Hulme and Ms Sharon Dawson, who did not re-nominate for their positions on the Board, for their enormous contributions over their terms in office. Ms Prue Walduck and Ms Rochelle Veitch, both from Victoria, have successfully been elected to fill these positions.

AAA CEO, Ms Amanda Olthof, is looking forward to continuing the company’s valuable work advocating in the interests of all Australian alpaca producers alongside the appointees.

“Ian has been a champion of the Australian alpaca industry and we are sad to see him go. We wish him all the best and hope to see him stay involved in the industry in other ways,” said Ms Olthof.

“I look forward to continuing to promote and grow the industry with the support of Mr Munn, who I believe will be an asset to our Board and Association.”

“I also welcome Prue and Rochelle who will be valuable additions to the Board, reinforcing best-practice governance and offering new perspectives as we look to the future of the AAA,” said Ms Olthof.

– ENDS –

Media enquiries: Amanda Olthof 0421 649 843 / amanda@alpaca.asn.au

You’ll have access to the best information, support and services for managing and breeding alpacas in Australia.